Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Gaining relevant work experience before grad school?

Gaining relevant work experience before grad school?

I am interested in pursuing my master's in Urban Planning but am wanting to get relevant work experience first. I have a BA in English and all internships I have found want you to have a degree in a related field or still be in school.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to the types of positions/sectors to look in for entry-level jobs as far as getting my foot in the door goes?

It is frustrating to see that I can't attain any sort of professional experience or idea of the work with my undergraduate degree before I decide to pursue tens of thousands of dollars of debt to get a Master's degree in a field I have no tangible experience with.

Cyburbian Plus
    Registered
    Jun 2003
    Don't take 8 yrs off and have irrelevant work experience like I did.
    Oddball
    Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves?
    Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here?
    Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
    From Kelly's Heroes (1970)

Are you sure you're not hurt ?
    No. Just some parts wake up faster than others.
    Broke parts take a little longer, though.
    From Electric Horseman (1979)

Registered
    Mar 2008
    I don't know what it is like in America, but here in Perth (Australia) I had to wait until I was a third year student before I could get a work experience position (which lead to a paid casual position) with a large private planning and design firm.

My best suggestion would be to try and get involved with seminars and presentations etc as much as you can. You could try contacting public/government planning departments and private firms (small and large) and explaining to them that you are interested in planning and want to do some work experience to get a taste for it. Maybe you will get someone who will give you a chance.