Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Head-in parking=parking lot, angled parking=street?

Registered
    Nov 2009

Head-in parking=parking lot, angled parking=street?

Take your vision of an idyllic "street" (public or private) and now picture your street in two different configurations: angled parking and head-in parking.

Does the angled parking result in you viewing this as a street, while the same configuration with head-in parking has you viewing it as less than a street, more like a parking lot?

Admittedly not the most intellectual discussion, but with myself not being a planner and being told by a long range planner on a project that angled parking vs. head-in parking results in the change in distinction from street to parking lot, just wondering if this is some common planning "rule"?

Apparently per the long range planner, head-in parking is void of feel and emotion, and my inability to make this distinction is because I'm a transportation engineer, with that same lack of feel and emotion. He's right on my lack of feel and emotion, but I still don't buy that angled parking makes the street.

Registered
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally posted by UrbaneSprawler View post
    Admittedly not the most intellectual discussion, but with myself not being a planner and being told by a long range planner on a project that angled parking vs. head-in parking results in the change in distinction from street to parking lot, just wondering if this is some common planning "rule"?

Apparently per the long range planner, head-in parking is void of feel and emotion, and my inability to make this distinction is because I'm a transportation engineer, with that same lack of feel and emotion. He's right on my lack of feel and emotion, but I still don't buy that angled parking makes the street.
    Sounds like this person is trying to justify something to themselves.

Registered
    Feb 2003