Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Off to college

Registered
    Mar 2003

Off to college

So here is a question that came up as our daughter was off to college.

How many of you got to keep a room at your parents house when you went away to college?

Or did you pack your things and off you went.
    There have to be some stories in this topic.

I was a non-traditional student so I had a house of my own. So it was hardly an issue with me.
    Our daughter made a big deal about keeping a room but when she comes home she doesn't stay home ,she comes home and stays at her boyfriends. We don't understand keeping a shrine to her, as my husband calls it.

What were your experiences???
    It is all a matter of perspective!!!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2001
    My youngest son moved into his sister's room as soon as she left for school. When she comes home, he moves into the room with my other son, and daughter sleeps in her brother's room.

She didn't insist on my keeping her room, but she gets it back when she's home just because she's the only girl in the family. Well, I'm not sharing a room with her.

Registered
    Jun 2007
    I moved out, took my stuff, and when I came home for Thanksgiving break, I got to stay in what used to be my room only with new paint, decor, furniture, etc. The only thing that was the same was the carpet. My mom had rebranded my room as the guest room.