Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Questions from a GIS major applying planning master

Registered
    Nov 2010

Questions from a GIS major applying planning master

Hi,

I am senior GIS major currently studying in Canada, applying for master program of planning in the US.

As a GIS major undergrad, I don't have too much experience directly related to planning, but I did have a summer job helping develop a GIS for a planning department of a local municipality. I did two other internships in two good IT companies but they are not so relevant.

As for recommendation letters, all are academic. One is from my thesis supervisor who is in planning school, but other two are from my profs in my own department. I think they will write strong letters but still the problem is that they are not so relevant to planning.

The only thing that gives me some confidence to apply is my GPA (3.6), GRE (1580, 4.5) and TOEFL (111).

I do have a passion in planning, but I am afraid that passion is not enough as there are so many qualified applicants. So I was wondering whether I will have a chance to get into one of the top 10 planning schools if I could write a solid PS.

And I would more than happy if any of you could give me some suggestions on how to make up my deficiency in work experience, or other suggestions about how I could stand out from other applicants with planning background and more experience.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Clara

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2004
    No matter who you are, the personal statement will be the most important piece of your application package. You need to make an argument for why the program you are applying for is right for you, why you are right for them, and how your background ties into all of that.

Your numbers are fine. A year or two in the "real world" always helps, but even if you've had a small amount of exposure to planning, you will be in a good position.