Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Chances/suggestions for grad school?

Registered
    Nov 2010

Chances/suggestions for grad school?

I'm a fresh Brown grad and I want to do urban planning. However, I have zero experience (but my undergrad was in art and architecture history) and a not too stellar GPA: 3.2 (3.5 for last two years). My GRE breakdown is 700 V and 770 Q. I was wondering, based on those stats, what schools do I have a chance at, if it's presumed that I have a decent personal statement and recs? Do I have a shot at the top tier, or is my GPA going to block me?

I also want to focus on sustainable urban planning.

Any suggestions?

Registered
    Jan 2005
    As you will notice, we argue all the time about "top tier". Do you mean Harvard, MIT, Penn? Or do you mean North Carolina, USC, Columbia?

There is no top tier as far as I am concerned. You have a fit with a school. If that fit is correct, it should be top tier for you. If you are asking if you think you can get into Harvard, I would suggest checking their requirements and contacting professors.

Masters should be about the student, not the school. If you find a professor you respect and want to learn from, that is a much better barometer than school "prestige". Good luck.
    A common mistake people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. -Douglas Adams

Registered
    Nov 2010
    I don't mean "top tier" for the name, per se, but in general the more competitive programs, especially the ones in the better locations.

On the list so far is:
    University of Colorado (Denver)
    OSU
    University of Minnesota (Minneapolis)
    UF

Maybe Columbia, Penn, and Harvard for kicks. I'm just wondering how much of a problem my low-ish GPA and total lack of experience is going to factor in at decent programs in general.