Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Am I qualified for grad school or wasting my time?

Registered
    Nov 2010

Am I qualified for grad school or wasting my time?

Hey Folks,

I know this is a pretty lame question, but I am curious what my chances are of getting into the Ryerson grad program for planning.
    I'm still on the fence about applying, but hopefully getting some feedback will help guide my choice (and potentially avoid wasting $100)

I have an undergrad from UofT in Environmental Management, and Criminology, with a minor in Sociology
    I'm an intern with the Town of Oakville in the Environmental Policy Department, and I've worked as an Alternative Transportation Coordinator with the UofT Sustainability Department for one summer.
    My GPA the last 2years is 79%
    have experience with GIS, working with Mississauga Transit, and taken courses in Transportation and Urban Planning.

I am pretty set on the Ryerson education because I am sick of UofT's lame theoretical background. I really want to gain some applicable skills!

Thanks for the help!

     
    Registered
    Oct 2009
    I was kind of in the same boat two years ago. Graduated with an Honours Geography degree from UWO and applied to Ryerson's Masters of Urban Development program with about a 77% average and no related work experience. That was when the program was relatively new and I thought I may have a chance. I applied late and was put on a waiting list...and ultimately denied...which was dissapointing. I found a job with a planning and consulting firm in my area and have worked in planning for nearly two years. I am applying to a few schools this time around. I digress...but I think you'll definitely get a look. I definitely don't think its a waste of time. If it doesn't work out at least you become familiar with the entire process. Questions like these (from my experience) don't get a lot of responses so consider yourself lucky...

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2008