Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Rutgers, NYU, or Hunter for transportation (program/life)

Registered
    Nov 2010

Rutgers, NYU, or Hunter for transportation (program/life)

Yes, it's another one of these. I apologize in advance.
    But... I need to make a decision basically by December 3rd (I applied for spring term admissions).

Background:
    I'm a transportation guy (with some experience), but also enjoy the other aspects of planning. I have an undergrad degree in anthropology and biology and a masters degree in experimental psychology. I can deal with numbers. I have a history of going to private, urban universities.

Dilemma:
    I'm struggling to decide between Rutgers, NYU and Hunter (MUP programs).
    Can someone help?

I'd like to go to a program in a city, with minimal bureaucracy, transportation research opportunities both on campus and off, both mathematically and policy-based course offerings in transportation, and a good student planning culture on campus. The less of a commuter school-vibe I get, the better. Also, the student culture outside of the program is mildly important to me too. I'd prefer a smarter student body.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'd be happy to clarify anything as well.

Registered
    May 2010
    I did my undergraduate work at Hunter so I suppose I can speak broadly to school-wide culture questions.

Hunter is a large city university, and consequently taught me how to deal with ridiculous bureaucracies. I have a number of "fun" memories of running around getting paperwork signed, copied, and turned in, only to be told later that I'd filled out form A-201 when I needed form A-202. There are helpful people in each office, it was just a matter of finding them out.