Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Questions about a career in environmental planning

Registered
    Nov 2010

Questions about a career in environmental planning

Hi everyone,

I'm new here - late 20s and working in a different field, but considering a switch to planning as it really interests me. I'm trying to learn as much as I can, and am considering applying to grad schools for 2012!

A lot about planning interests me but what gets me the most excited is planning for sustainable communities. I have a couple questions about environmental planning as a career.

- Do you need a science undergrad or background for environmental planning jobs? My background is in the fine arts but I am very interested in environmental planning (especially in California, where I live).

- How's the job market for environmentally focused planners in CA (Bay Area, specifically) compared to other specialties, and do you think it might get better in the next 5 years?

- Where do most environmental/sustainable city planners work - private or public? It seems like a lot of the city/county jobs are for generalists, but I don't know about the federal agencies. Do any private agencies consult specifically on sustainable development and planning?

Sorry if some of these questions are naive but I'm just trying to learn! Thanks everyone in advance!

Registered
    Aug 2001