Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Location, Location, Location

Location, Location, Location

I'm a relatively recent graduate with a MURP and a B.S. Geography. I have no real desire or reason to live in the area I went to graduate school in, but now because of the economy I find myself in another metropolitan area that I really do not want to be in over the long term.

While I am continuing my search for a professional job (and an "I Need Cash" job somewhere), I'm beginning to wonder if I should just pick the location I believe I want to be and move there as soon as possible. That way I could more easily network, perform local volunteering, and so forth.

Does this seem logical? I'm not going to pass up a planning opportunity, especially for the experience, but if I'm having to work outside the field it seems that having the informal opportunities in the area of choice would be desirable.

Registered
    Jan 2005
    At this point, I would stay as flexible as possible. Keep the net wide and your options open. Even if you want to end up some place in the future, right now you need to find that job. Personally, I would just apply all over, and hope you get something. In 3-5 years after you have a little experience and the job market is better (fingers crossed) you can start thinking about where you really want to settle down.

Who knows you might end up somewhere that you thought you wouldn't like and really want to stay... Good luck!
    A common mistake people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. -Douglas Adams

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2010