Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How to show my parents urban planning is an actual field

Registered
    Jan 2011

How to show my parents urban planning is an actual field

Okay, I feel a little silly and embarrassed posting this on a forum of people who have devoted their careers to urban planning, but in reality this is my best resource.

I am a student studying urban studies at a liberal arts college. An expensive one at that, but aren't the all? Anyway, I recently declared Urban Studies as my major. My parents kind of hit the roof when I told them. For one reason or another, my parents have this narrow-minded idea that the only contributing members to society are doctors, lawyers, and computer scientists.. basically anything that doesn't involve a scalpel or computer is pulling up short in their book. (My dad kind of warmed up a little when I started about GIS though) They're both immigrants, which may or may not have some bearing on the issue...

I've sat down and attempted to speak with both of them about the field, but nothing really seems to get through to them. I'd like to show them one single undeniable piece of "evidence" of sorts that proves this.

My concern is less with winning their approval, and more about keeping their (very minimal, but still essential) financial support...

Suggestions?

Registered
    Mar 2010

I feel ya...