Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Starting an ecovillage

Registered
    Aug 2005

Starting an ecovillage

Has anyone here ever thought about moving to or starting an ecovillage? I am city born and raised, but outside of a public library the city not my natural habitat. I'd like to settle someplace in Georgia or South Carolina and set up an organic CSA farm. I have money I could invest and I have over 30 years experience growing vegetables (along with a BA in biology). But what I don't have is good health (congestive heart failure; high blood pressure and arthritis that will eventually make me disabled). So I would need help with the physical labor involved in setting up a farm.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2010
    So what exactly do you envision would be in your ecovillage besides a farm? Do you think you're going to buy an entire village or most of one, or is this something to be built from raw land? Give the rest of us a visual picture of an ecovillage.

Registered
    Aug 2005
    Quote Originally posted by urban2rural View post
    So what exactly do you envision would be in your ecovillage besides a farm? Do you think you're going to buy an entire village or most of one, or is this something to be built from raw land? Give the rest of us a visual picture of an ecovillage.
    I am thinking of building from the ground-up using ecologically sustainable building technologies such as rammed earth, strawbale, compressed earth blocks and earthbags.

The eco-village/farm would ultimately function as an environmental research and development center to promote sustainable food, energy and building technologies.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    My guess is this forum isn't going to get you a lot of participants. While planners may support the IDEA of eco-living we're generally a pretty staid bunch.