Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Any planning jobs in N. Florida?

Registered
    Aug 2010

Any planning jobs in N. Florida?

Hello all - I'm a local government planner in W. Washington, and have been thinking of moving back to my native state of FL (where I have about 10 yrs of state-level planning experience) to be closer to family and friends. I am lucky that my job here in WA is currently stable and I'm not likely to be laid off in the next year...that's about all anyone can say right now in most places.

However, I get the impression that the job situation is even worse than it is here, and not likely to get better anytime soon. I would want to go to either Tallahassee or Jacksonville; south FL just doesn't do it for me. Any advice from people familiar with the hiring situation around there would be greatly appreciated - thanks!!

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Greetings from the Florida panhandle. You want a job here? You're f****d.
    Annoyingly insensitive

Registered
    Aug 2010
    Quote Originally posted by RichmondJake View post
    Greetings from the Florida panhandle. You want a job here? You're f****d.
    Thanks, Jake. Blunt honesty is good...I guess.

Registered
    Jul 2007
    Hate to pile on here, but I am from that area and know its bad. I have a few friends that work for the DCA (for now) and I know a few private sector folks who are struggling to find billable hours. My parents ask if I'll ever move back home...its not looking good for many years.
    "Never invest in any idea you can't illustrate with a crayon." ~Peter Lynch

Registered
    Aug 2010
    Quote Originally posted by beach_bum View post
    Hate to pile on here, but I am from that area and know its bad. I have a few friends that work for the DCA (for now) and I know a few private sector folks who are struggling to find billable hours. My parents ask if I'll ever move back home...its not looking good for many years.