Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: RUDATs and similar academic planning exercises

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2009

RUDATs and similar academic planning exercises

Recently a professional friend posted on Facebook about a charrette that his city had hosted recently that was very similar to AIA RUDAT exercises that I have seen recently. Stakeholders and locals get together with professionals from a variety of design disciplines and discuss, review, analyze and prepare a plan in anywhere from three to five days. The result was a "village" type TND mixed use project located on the fringe of a suburban city of approximately 72,000 within a larger metropolitan area of about 1.5 million.

As a professional urban designer, I have seen many of these exercises in the past and have often groaned at their outcome. The best I can describe them as is academic. The worst is unrealistic and completely without basis in a market driven economy. I am currently involved in two projects where I having to undue some of the work done by RUDAT type exercises that proposed unrealistic mixed use and commercial projects in suburban fringe areas.

I must also admit that there is a part of me that dislikes these exercises because they take much needed work away from professionals like myself. If this would have been a development plan that I was hired to design, my efforts to develop the plan likely would have taken weeks or months depending upon the amount of public feedback necessary. Is a plan valid if it can be developed in a few days by a group of people who may or may not be trained and experienced urban designers?