Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Going from consulting to small town planning

Registered
    Dec 2010

Going from consulting to small town planning

I just got back from an interview at a small town in the Portland region for an Associate Planner position doing mainly development review and some Main Street work.

They had me do about 45 minutes of written exercises - a pre-app review, a mock letter, and a prioritization exercise with about 30 different emails from various people and how I would address and prioritize them.

I have been working for five years at a planning consulting firm and have not gotten down to the nuts and bolts of current planning on the job. In addition, I just graduated from PSU with the MURP degree, where we don't get much practical experience with current planning.

My question is: how do I get experience in the public sector doing development review aside from going back to square one? Are there books I can read, or other resources? How do other people break into that role?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    Current planning accounted for 65-75% of my annual billings at my first job (private sector). There is no one "how-to" for writing memos. I would review the plans, type up a review memo, and my boss would redline the memo beyond recognition. Over time I learned how to mimic his writing style, which was very succinct and brief. My writing style on cyburbia is long, windy, and verbose, which is in stark contrast to my planning writing.