Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Working at a non-profit after a MUP? Suggestions?

Registered
    Dec 2008

Working at a non-profit after a MUP? Suggestions?

I have been looking for a planning job for about a year now. I graduated from a very good planning school in 2010. Despite having a great internship at a city redevelopment agency, I have had extreme difficulty even finding planning jobs to which I can apply. Basically, the public agencies are not hiring rookie planning grads, and the private planning firms seem to be looking for highly experienced consultants with 5-10+ years in the field. I want so much to get more experience in planning. I was even offered a position to create and manage a transportation project for a private community development and neighborhood planning business. However, the position was unpaid for a year, until I could carve out my own paid position and wait for the financial returns of a successful project (in this case, a very exciting transportation hub and bike station project, my dream). Unfortunately, I could not accept the position because my payments for $100,000 worth of school loans are going to kick in sometime in July. I already used up my forbearance this year.