Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Comments tips for me as I begin to apply to grad school?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Apr 2011

Comments tips for me as I begin to apply to grad school?

Hello all, I just wanted some tips/comments from fellow planning students and planning professionals on what they think my chances might be to get into a good masters program based on my specs. I am a UC Irvine student and am staying for one extra quarter into my fifth year this fall. I'm planning on submitting my applications this fall to attend a MURP or similar program for Fall 2012 in order to enter a career in environmental planning (EIRs etc). I'm so far going to apply to UCI, UCLA, and Cal Poly Pomona.

Majors: Urban Studies, Criminology/Law
    Minor: Political Science

GRE: taken last week.
    Verbal- 590
    Math- 790
    Total- 1380
    Writing- ? (haven't received yet)

GPA: 3.529

Unpaid Internships:
    1 quarter at real estate law firm.
    1 upcoming quarter at an environmental and transportation planning and engineering firm (Parsons Brinckerhoff, I'm 99.9% sure I nailed the interview).
    1 quarter w/ the Green Campus Program

Research Experience:
    1 quarter research assistance for a criminology lecturer.
    Currently helping the Chair of the Planning, Policy and Design department with some research.

Letters of Rec that I'm going to try to ask for:
    1 from one of my undergraduate professor who also teaches in the MURP program. He is very friendly with me and we've spoken many times outside of class.
    1 from the professor I'm currently helping out with research. He is the chair of the PPD department and is also makes decisions for the UCI MURP program.

Additional stuff:
    Taking 1 graduate MURP class this fall (Transportation and Environmental Health) with the undergraduate/graduate professor I mentioned earlier.
    Taking an undergraduate GIS class this fall.