Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Upgrade or new career?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2008

Upgrade or new career?

I have a 2yr degree at college, I am thinking of finishing two more years and getting my BA, but I am wondering if that would make alot of diffrence, considering the cost. My friend just graduated from a 2yr buisness course and less than 6 months he allready has a job, maybe I should take buisness? I also taught myself photoshop, so thinking of taking graphic design.

Considering the lack of jobs and compition in planning, especially for entry level, is it worth upgrading, or would my money be better spent taking a diffrent career field, healthcare is open, but im not sure if I would be cut out for that.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    A 2 year "degree" is not a degree. However, there are "some" positions that require just a few years of school. When I moved to Kansas from Illinois for my last job, I was shocked that the engineering firm hired draftsmen which just associates. In Illinois the very least is a 4 year non-engineering degree.

You will NOT earn a job in planning or many fields with just 2 years of classes. Stay in school and finish your FOUR YEAR degree.
    "This is great, honey. What's the crunchy stuff?"
    "M&Ms. I ran out of paprika."

Family Guy

Registered
    Nov 2008
    Pretty much everywhere I've been recognizes a two year associate's degree as a legitimate academic qualification. Canada also has some really interesting two-year programs that I haven't seen in the US. Just last week I was at the Mike Lin workshop with a group of Canadians who were in a two-year landscape architecture technology degree program. In the past I worked with some Canadians with two year degrees in what I describe as "scientific fieldwork". They were well employed and made good money. However, they spent a lot of time overseas, in oil fields, etc.