Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How to help people who are drunk....

Registered
    Dec 2008

How to help people who are drunk....

I have no experience with alcohol. Not a drop (no pun intended). My brother recently went through a bad divorce, and apparently has started to drink again. He drank some in college, but never much.

He called me the other night from a bar, and said he needed a ride. I went down and picked him up. He seemed OK, but had been sick. As we were driving away I asked him he needed anything.

ursus: "Do you need anything? Do you want something to eat?"

brother: "Oh don't say that, pull over pull over pull over - bleeeeeeeech".

Clearly, I need to be educated in the proper care of people who have had a little too much. He slept on my couch and was fine, but I want to be better prepared next time. I thought it might be fun to ask Cyburbia's finest for advice in the matter. Any takers?
    "...I would never try to tick Hink off. He kinda intimidates me. He's quite butch, you know." - Maister

Registered
    Dec 2010
    Drunk people are basically impossible to deal with. They thrive on drama.

Basically if you're drunk and around sober people you don't notice and assume everyone is in the same boat.

If you're sober and around drunk people you want to go on a shooting spree
    Insanity in individuals is something rare - but in groups, parties, nations and epochs, it is the rule.

Registered
    Dec 2008
    Quote Originally posted by HomerJ9139 View post
    Drunk people are basically impossible to deal with. They thrive on drama.
    -!
    He was actually very funny. He's wound really tightly normally, and was funny funny, laughing etc., and pleasant.

I'm just fuzzy on when you should give them something to eat, or maybe water? Or what. It was very late, and he had to be at work (ahem) early in the morning. Couldn't call in late or anything. I'd like to know...you know, the "tricks" I guess, if there are any?