Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: ITE membership

Registered
    Oct 2001

ITE membership

Are there any Cyburbian's out there who are members of ITE? I was a student member of ITE while in graduate school and kept it during the first couple of years of my career mainly because someone else paid for it. My limited interaction with ITE then was that there were too many traffic engineers with the mentality of moving cars and not people. Well, it has been over a decade since I dropped my ITE membership and I am considering joining and would like any feedback current (or recently expired) ITE members can provide about ITE for a planner.

Registered
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally posted by Dharmster View post
    Are there any Cyburbian's out there who are members of ITE? ... My limited interaction with ITE then was that there were too many traffic engineers with the mentality of moving cars and not people. Well, it has been over a decade since I dropped my ITE membership and I am considering joining and would like any feedback current (or recently expired) ITE members can provide about ITE for a planner.
    Let me just say that my many abstract submissions (design and/or policy) to things associated with traffic engineers continue to get rejected. I don't know if the old-school box surrounds all the younger engineers, but the ones I meet seem to have more open minds. If you are doing it for access to technical papers there are other ways to gain access.

I would join ITE if I were you. I'd been a member of APA and ITE for years, especially while in the private sector. I'm only in APA now because I'd have to pay for ITE membership myself, but it was great. It helps to be well rounded and you get to know engineers and how they function and how to deal with them in the future, especially when you start with a project from the planning stage and it has to be implemented with the engineering stage.

Registered
    Oct 2001