Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Should I drop out of planning school?

Should I drop out of planning school?

I am a first year student in an Ivy League planning program and I'm seriously considering dropping out. I would really appreciate advice from planners and other students so I can make the right decision.

I got on the planning track as an idealist and advocate. I want to be an anti-sprawl crusader and a champion of neglected urban centers. I want to help reshape the disastrous development patterns that have ruined much of the American landscape and ravaged our historic built environments. I want to make a difference in the world (as hackneyed and corny as the phrase is) and not just be a cog in the machine that perpetuates business as usual. I realize I'm not special in these desires and that most if not everyone on this site shares them. I just wanted to make clear that I'm passionate about planning and this isn't some random thing I chose to go to school for.

My reasons for dropping out:
    • With a couple exceptions, the courses and professors are generally mediocre. I don't feel inspired here and the coursework isn't as rigorous as I expected, ie I don't feel like I am learning genuine skills. The workload is tremendous, which would be fine if I was enjoying the work, but a lot of it is drudgery. Second year students I've talked to says it gets better and first semester is difficult, but this sucks. I feel like I'm not getting what I'm paying for, which leads me to...
    • Cost. I will be at least $70k in debt when I graduate. While I would be ok with this if I was loving the program and had more confidence in finding meaningful and rewarding employment upon graduation, neither is looking good right now. Is it worth going into so much debt for this degree? Is the Ivy name worth it on the diploma?