Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Secondary dwelling units

Registered
    Oct 2011

Secondary dwelling units

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on the forum but have enjoyed following the informative discussions for some time. I am looking for zoning provisions to regulate secondary dwelling units. The municipality in interested in allowing secondary dwelling units/accessory apartments and wants to include appropriate standards to ensure functionality and compatibility. I am interested to know about parking requirements, driveway widths, lot frontage, minimum lot areas. Also of importance is servicing issues; the engineering department is of the opinion that second units will place too much pressure on services (i.e. water and sewer). Based on the readings i have done servicing does not seem to be an issue. Any comments on this would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Welcome!
    The state of california has a ton of information in regards to 2nd units. This is there memo on 2nd units. While 2nd units do increase sewer loads, if your municipality had "impact" fees to offset the additional load that goes towards the o&m and construction of a new treatment plant, than the squawking should be done to a minimum.

We permit 2nd units by right on all single family lots that have sewer connections. Lots that are on septic are required to have a minimum of 1 acre in size for a 2nd unit and size the septic system to accommodate it. This is a directive from the Regional Water Quality Control Board. Here is a link to our ordinance regulating everything about 2nd units.

Good luck.
    follow me on the twitter @rcplans

Registered
    Apr 2003