Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Current planning job prospects in Canada

Current planning job prospects in Canada

Hello,

I am writing to seek some advice about current job prospects in the field of Urban Planning in Canada. I have over 10 yrs of experience in architecture/structural engineering. Interestingly, with the time; I have realized my fascination towards planning so I am looking forward to make a carrier switch by studying Masters in Urban Planning.
    However, I am unclear about current Job scenario in Canada, given the recessionary times in the market.
    Even though I have relevant industry experience, I am bit worried about having no experience in Urban Planning in particular, when I graduate, that might be required to apply for a job. It could become a demerit for me to start a new carrier with fewer job options and having no prior experience to begin with. That is why I want to take a feel of the bumps I may have to face or many might be already facing after this carrier switch. Could someone please help me make-up my mind by shedding some light on the future outlook of Urban Planning in Canada?
    Sorry to put up my dilemma, any response would be much appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2010
    There are jobs in Canada. Most of them are out West. Alberta is pretty good for jobs now. Ontario and BC seem to have lots too, but I imagine the competition for them is fierce.