Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Summer Job

Summer Job

I am in my 4th year of a Geography undergrad and I will be starting my masters in planning in the fall of 2012. Can anyone give me some advice in getting a summer job in the planning field ??? I live in Ontario, Canada and I am really eager to learn and get experience!! If someone can give me any advice I would really appreciate it!!!!

Registered
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally posted by davidwestbrook View post
    Can anyone give me some advice in getting a summer job in the planning field ??? )
    Job market very, very tight with masters grads and some laid off planners willing to take an internship to get a foot in the door.

Work the phones, ask your professors, pound the pavement, knock on doors, find resumes that are successful, nail your cover letter, get a portfolio together if you have one...
    -------
    Give a man a gun, and he can rob a bank. Give a man a bank, and he can rob the world.

Registered
    Jul 2011
    Best piece of advice is to volunteer, if you can afford to do so. Few will turn away free help, and it will get you valuable experience. And if you're good, they might even start paying you eventually...
    In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move. (Douglas Adams)

Registered
    Jan 2005
    I think that you should begin networking now. Call around and see if anyone has any work they need to get done. Specific projects are always key. Small things that can get you experience. I wouldn't begin to ask for money unless they are eager to have you. My guess would be they can't pay you for the work.

If you set up something where you work 2-3 days a week as a volunteer and then get a job that pays something somewhere else, you can make some money to live and get the experience that is necessary to even get your foot in the door these days.