Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How much GIS work do you do on a daily basis?

Registered
    Jun 2010

How much GIS work do you do on a daily basis?

I'm a current double undergraduate major in Urban Planning and Informatics (basically Information Systems / IT). I have immensely enjoyed undergrad so far and the knowledge and skills I have gained from both fields.

Nearing the end of my degree, ready to pursue a Masters, I am wondering which field to 'specialize' in, or whether to try and combine them where they pretty much intersect - GIS. I have found that I love working with GIS, and am considering doing a Spatial Science degree with a specialization in urban planning applications, or an Urban Planning degree in which I will hopefully get to use a good amount GIS experience.

I was wondering how much GIS work you do on a daily basis in your work, and possible opinions about different fields or sectors of planning which require more GIS than others. Do you have many planners who use GIS in your office, or is there a 'GIS guy' with a different qualification altogether?

Thanks for your help and any helpful advice in advance.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2008
    I'm the "GIS guy" in this department when our GIS department decides not to cooperate (which is most of the time). I coordinate the activities of the planning techs doing basic GIS work while I do the more complicated things such as analysis. So I'd say most of my job involves GIS but I don't do anything such as addressing or drawing in parcels, that's the GIS department's job. The planners in this department are all proficient with GIS but they're not familiar with many of the cool things you can do with extensions such as spatial analyst. The techs on the other hand use GIS everyday but are still not comfortable with it beyond working off an .mxd created for them.