Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Entry level planning related jobs

Registered
    Feb 2012

Entry level planning related jobs

I graduated from UGA with a BBA in Real Estate May 2010, and since have been working as a leasing admin for a commercial real estate co with a focus on class a and b suburban office buildings. I am trying to switch my career to the planning profession. in doing so, i have applied to several master's programs. I fear that my work experience has not been enough or relevant in order to be consider by a quality planning school. Therefore, I am trying to find ways to fix that by looking into entry level positions. DO they exist without having a masters?? Any suggestions on how to break into the field with a private or public sector entry level planning job? I am primarily interested in land use and economic development.

Any advice or ideas are appreciated!

Welcome to Cyburbia! I would not worry too much about the lack of planning specific work experience. Real estate is a close enough field, and in fact the experience would compliment a masters in planning. Additionally, there are very few entry-level planning jobs out there, so that idea is probably a non-starter. Finally, in my grad program, more than half the students applied to grad school directly from undergrad and had little to no relevant work experience. I'm not sure about the breakdown at other schools, however.

A strong personal statement, along with good GPA and GRE scores, is your best bet. IMHO.

Registered
    Feb 2007