Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Choosing a major

Registered
    Feb 2012

Choosing a major

I'm a freshman in college and am still undecided on my major. Recently I have become intrested in the the job field of urban planning. My interest has been raised by reading a few planning books as well as watching the documentary Urbanized. The college I currently attend does not offer an urban planning degree so I'm wondering what major would best prepare me for grad school and a successful career. I have looked into sociology, political science (public administration) as well as geography. Any advice is appreciated. Thank You

Registered
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally posted by chood3 View post
    The college I currently attend does not offer an urban planning degree so I'm wondering what major would best prepare me for grad school and a successful career. I have looked into sociology, political science (public administration) as well as geography. Any advice is appreciated. Thank You
    Jobs will be tight for many years to come, but if you must do it IME the geography undergrads are the best prepared for generalist long-range planning, IMHO. You can go Soc or PoliSci if you want to go down the equity or policy route too.
    -------
    Give a man a gun, and he can rob a bank. Give a man a bank, and he can rob the world.

Registered
    Jun 2003
    Quote Originally posted by ColoGI View post
    Jobs will be tight for many years to come, but if you must do it IME the geography undergrads are the best prepared for generalist long-range planning, IMHO. You can go Soc or PoliSci if you want to go down the equity or policy route too.
    If you search the the threads you should find several of us studied Geography.
    Oddball
    Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves?
    Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here?
    Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
    From Kelly's Heroes (1970)