Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Chances for grad school 2012

Registered
    Feb 2012

Chances for grad school 2012

Hi All,

I'm hoping to get into a graduate program for transportation planner, and better yet, get a dual degree in planning and engineering. My top choices are MIT, Berkeley, UNC and Georgia Tech. Could anyone give me advice on other schools to consider, and my chances of getting in? I know it all boils down to how well you market yourself, but there isn't enough information on whether I stand the chance to go through the time/money applying.

About me:
    I am a 2010 grad of a top-tier private undergraduate institution, majors in History and Political Science. GPA: 3.44, GRE: 740Q, 660V, 3.0W
    I worked for about 10 months at an affordable housing nonprofit, and I'm currently working at a Community Foundation in community investments and grant-making. I also write for an online newspaper in urban transportation issues. I have experience working in community and economic development abroad while in college and have helped fundraise projects abroad since I've graduated.

I have a strong passion for new urbanism and smart growth policies, and want to explore the design route of mass transit systems, bicycle planning and neighborhood development centered around TOD.

Any advice on applying to school would be VERY helpful, as I am pretty nervous as to where I stand a chance and should bother applying.

Thanks so much!

Registered
    Jul 2011
    I would consider Rutgers. They have the National Transit Institute (NTI) which could provide the expertise on mass transit you are looking for. Also, Texas A&M houses the Texas Transportation Institute (TTI) and they have an open planning contract with TxDOT where they conduct various projects around the state of TX in mass transit. From my understanding, A&M has a strong Engineering program where you could mix and match courses from your degree program for Urban Planning.