Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Fresh graduate, what to do?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2011

Fresh graduate, what to do?

Hi guys,

Just graduated with an Urban Planning and Studies degree last week and was wondering what the next steps are. I am aware that jobs are scarce. I have very little experience. Worked for a nonprofit organization that campaigned against the region's transportation plan. Didn't do much but research and file documents.

I am considering:

Taking GIS courses and getting certified to round out skills

Get a masters degree... MUP or MPA?

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally posted by jabba rookie View post
    Hi guys,

Just graduated with an Urban Planning and Studies degree last week and was wondering what the next steps are. I am aware that jobs are scarce. I have very little experience. Worked for a nonprofit organization that campaigned against the region's transportation plan. Didn't do much but research and file documents.

I am considering:

Taking GIS courses and getting certified to round out skills

Get a masters degree... MUP or MPA?
    Welcome. First thing first, what kind of job do you want, i.e. career path. What kind of skills do you bring to the table? Do you want to be a planner or something else? Do you want to Stay in California? What kind of course work can you parley onto a resume? What exactly did you research at this non-profit?

Wasting money on certs or additional education is a waste if you can't answer these simple questions.
    follow me on the twitter @rcplans

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Quote Originally posted by CPSURaf View post
    Welcome. First thing first, what kind of job do you want, i.e. career path. What kind of skills do you bring to the table? Do you want to be a planner or something else? Do you want to Stay in California? What kind of course work can you parley onto a resume? What exactly did you research at this non-profit?