Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Entry level salary - transportation planner

Registered
    Jun 2012

Entry level salary - transportation planner

I am negotiating my salary as an entry level transportation planner with a private consulting firm in the SF Bay Area. I just graduated with a Masters in City Planning in May (from an Ivy League school, if that matters). I have 5 years of work experience prior to getting my masters (most of which is unrelated to planning, however).

I think their offer may be on the low side, so I would like to have a number (based in reality, of course) that I can counter with.

Any ideas on what salary range I should ask for based on my experience above?

Thanks!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    Use the APA Salary Survey to give you a range. I "think" they have adjusted survey results with and without respondents from California. The cost of living is higher and it skews the survey results. I recommend purchasing the book "Fearless Interviewing" as they have good techniques for how to answer the salary question.

Answering the salary question is not necessarily the same as negotiating. You should go into an interview with a range, but don't be the first person to pull the tool out of the toolbox. You are fresh out of school with zero years of relevant experience. It doesn't matter if you have a graduate degree or even a masters degree. You have to build a reputation as a worker BEFORE a negotiator. Take what you can get in this economy when you are fresh out of school.
    "This is great, honey. What's the crunchy stuff?"
    "M&Ms. I ran out of paprika."

Family Guy

Congrats on the job offer. Since this is your first planning-related job, there might not be much room to negotiate. Experience is king. This is especially true consulting where they're selling expertise.