Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Career path advice

Registered
    Jun 2012

Career path advice

Hi there- I just need a little perspective from other planners. I have worked in planning for over 7 years in various locations in the US and have worked up to a senior staff position in my current job. For the past 5 years, I have worked solely on Long-Range Planning. The other 2 years were a mix of internships and very little current planning. Thus, I have very little experience in reviewing site plans, zoning cases, etc. My family has recently decided to relocate to a different area (we're trying to get jobs there first, though). However, the only jobs available so far are jobs in current planning, and they're entry-level or just above entry level.

Assuming that the pay is within my desired range, do you think it looks bad to take a step back in my career to do a current planning job? My thinking is that it might be good to get more current planning experience under my belt if I want to eventually be in a director type of position. Maybe I should just hang out until the economy picks up?

Opinions are appreciated!

Thanks!

Registered
    Aug 2004
    If your needs are met with a current planning job, then take it. I'm in the opposite boat - I have no long-range planning.

You have a leg up on the competition, since you have municipal experience and proven skills. Good luck with the job serach and move! - I hope to be doing that soon, too.
    "We do not need any other Tutankhamun's tomb with all its treasures. We need context. We need understanding. We need knowledge of historical events to tie them together. We don't know much. Of course we know a lot, but it is context that's missing, not treasures." - Werner Herzog, in Archaeology, March/April 2011

Registered
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally posted by yippityskippity View post