Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How bad am I shooting myself in the foot?

Cyburbian Plus
    Registered
    Sep 2011

How bad am I shooting myself in the foot?

A lot of people might say I am simply because I'm studying Urban Planning, but that ship has sailed :).

Disclaimer: I wasn't sure were to put this, but career development seemed like the most accurate section to make use of.

Today I find myself at 25 years old. I just finished up my first semester of graduate school (Planning at Rutgers) and did pretty well.

In ~2 years my fiance and I intend to get married, we even have a date set :D.

After we get married in April '14 we were thinking about working for the next 8-10 months before embarking on a 6-10 month trip "around the world", right now it looks like it'll be Spain to Kenya to India to New Zealand (and nearby easily accesible countries). We're going on the cheap we'll be WWOOFing in all these places so that we don't have to pay for the roof over our heads and food. At least while we're not sight-seeing. Estimated cost is looking at ~8k for the whole trip (the Spain trip is free!).

Anyway, I'm getting side tracked...

How badly am I screwing myself by doing this?

Coming back at 28 going on 29 to get my first real planning job. Although I've been interning since September of last year and right now have two internships at the same time. With this low projected increase in planning jobs in the next decade, coupled with an ever growing amount of people getting into the field I worry that I'm setting myself up for failure, or at least quite a difficult journey to landing my first planning job. It seems like a lot of the people I'm studying with want to be analysts of some sort, and not city/town land use planners so hopefully that is a common trend in other programs. It just hit me the other day how rough it is for planning right now, and the forseeable future.