Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: What is a typical day as a planner like?

Registered
    Jul 2012

What is a typical day as a planner like?

I'm an unemployed civil engineer considering attending grad school in urban planning this Fall. It appears that urban planning job opportunities are pretty dismal currently. Even so, I haven't ruled out going to grad school. I don't think I can see myself pursuing civil engineering for the rest of my career. Civil engineers, in my experience, aren't given much opportunity to come up with creative ideas that improve communities. I enjoy researching what other cities have done. I also like interacting with the public, etc.

I've talked with a handful of planners about their work, but I'm looking to get more input.

My primary interest is transportation planning, particularly bicycle/pedestrian planning & design.

My question is, what is a typical day as a planner like? Better yet, give me a rundown of what you did at your last day of work.

Much appreciated!

A typical day as a planner is pretty similar to the typical day of a civil engineer. Sit on your ass in front of a computer, talk to people on the phone, attend meetings, give the occasional presentation, talk to the occasional client, avoid your boss, eat leftovers out of Tupperware, try not to get hemorrhoids.

Registered
    Jun 2003
    Not to cut you off but we had this thread before:

A day in the life of a planner... What do planners do day to day ?

Got 15 replies.
    Oddball
    Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves?
    Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here?
    Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
    From Kelly's Heroes (1970)

Are you sure you're not hurt ?
    No. Just some parts wake up faster than others.
    Broke parts take a little longer, though.
    From Electric Horseman (1979)