Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: iPhone Mania

Registered
    Apr 2003
    Someplace between yesterday and tomorrow.

iPhone Mania

Last week, Apple announced the release of the iPhone 5 which was expected to hit shelves this coming Friday. Much to everyone’s surprise, over 2 million were sold during the first 24hours of pre-order. Yes, the screen is larger, yes, the processor is said to be faster, but otherwise, it is not too much different than the iPhone 4S which will have the exact same operating system starting later this week. Oh, and Apple changed the connector… and not to the universal standard
    I have been holding out on getting a new phone for the past two months in anticipation of the iPhone 5. But it is not because I wanted a new iPhone or that I am upgrading from the 4 or 4s…my Android phone is only 29 months old, but the touch screen thinks I am pushing on it when I am not, programs start and stop on their own, and the button to adjust the settings has not worked in the past 3 months. It was time for me to get a new phone. Additionally, I like how my iPad works, so I am switching to Apple for a phone.

A friend of mine who is an IT consultant told me to wait as it will the most up to date tech and that it will have updates much longer than the others. I am still going to try to get one on Friday when they come out, but I am not sure how well that will work. I might have to wait a few extra weeks.
    What are your thoughts on this iPhone mania? Do you have an iPhone? Will you be getting the iPhone 5?
    Not my monkey, not my circus. - Old Polish Proverb

Registered
    May 2005
    I bought an iPhone 4S in March. It was my first foray into Apple products and I've enjoyed it so far. However, it is my first smartphone, so I really can't compare it to Android products. Since I just upgraded 6 months ago, I won't be getting the iPhone 5.