Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Combining land use and zoning maps? Good or bad?

Registered
    Dec 2012

Combining land use and zoning maps? Good or bad?

I'm an intern and I'm having a hard time finding relevant information for a project that I'm doing for my community development department.I have a question for anyone with city planning knowledge in California. Are charter cities exempt from general plan laws that require them to be amended more than four times a year? And what could happen as a result of combining the land use map and zoning map in a city? Are there any benefits to combining these maps? Or is it better to separate these two types of maps?

Anything helps, thanks!

Registered
    Dec 2001
    I am not familiar with your neck of the woods; however, combining a zoning and land use map seems like a nightmare.

You're opening the door for a lot of ... "..according to this map, so and so around the corner is running a strip club in the R-3 District, why can't I?"

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Oct 2007
    Charter city status only impacts whether the zoning and general plan land-use elements have to be aligned and consistent, not whether you should have them as two separate documents... so, except in charter cities and the City of Los Angeles, zoning may not, for example, do anything that the General Plan dose not allow, whereas in charter cities, such consistency is not enforced. LA is considered a special exception and instance of a charter and has its own rules about determining consistency.