Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: What's the deal with Planning Technician position?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jun 2012
    Brazil, where hearts were entertaining June.

What's the deal with Planning Technician position?

I'm a recent graduate with a M.C.P. Most of these Planner I jobs require 2 years of experience along with my masters (I have done internships), however I've been looking into Planning Technician roles to both move up in an office and gain that required 2-3 year experience.

Question: Is Planning Technician respected? If I work as a Planner Technician for a couple years and already have my masters, when I go to apply for higher level Planner I/Zoning Admin positions will that experience that I gained working as a Planning Technician count?

I don't want to waste my time working in a position that wont add to experience. The Planning Tech jobs I have seen are all GIS and plan review related....not simply secretarial work.

Would anyone recommend starting out as a Planning Technician...I mean, if that's all I can get even with a masters in planning?

(not allowed to post on the job board so I posted here).

Registered
    Jan 2009
    Planning Tech, Assistant Planner, etc. is your entry level job. It definitely counts as experience. If you can't land a planner 1 job I would take the job for about a year or two and move on. As far as respected, your the front counter jockey. You get no respect.
    I don't pretend to understand Brannigan's Law. I merely enforce it.

Registered
    Nov 2002
    I wouldn't be overly concerned with the title. A year or two from now, those looking at your resume won't confuse you for a secretary.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jun 2012
    Okay, thanks!