Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Urban studies major, but no desire to become an urban planner: options?

Registered
    Jan 2015

Urban studies major, but no desire to become an urban planner: options?

Hello all,

I am a senior and am majoring in Urban Studies. I've had two internships that I disliked: one in urban design at an architecture firm and one in public relations and outreach (working with community organizations to encourage more local participation and tourism in the city) at a small government agency. I hated both - urban development really isn't right for me. I'm not really a designer - I am not really artistically creative. I'm not of a community advocate or public relations type either. The people whom I worked with in community development were more interested in advancing politically rather than ever creating sustainable and livable cities. Lots of admirable projects started that were never finished because people were more concerned with showing off the mayor or non-profits and NGOs in town that they were always "doing" something new and creative. I am not sure if it's my town's environment or it's a problem across urban development.

I'm not really sure where to go from here. I'm quite different from a traditional Urban Studies major. I have coursework in Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Environmental Science, Math (up to Calculus III), and Economics that I took on my own (not part of Gen Ed or major requirements). I''m intermediate in GIS - not quite advanced yet. I have minimal IT experience and cyber security. I am fluent in Vietnamese and advanced in French. I know that I like field work more than sitting in an office.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Registered
    Aug 2005
    A couple of options out of many things you can consider:

Quote Originally posted by jenniferconn View post