Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Masters in Transportation Planning -- advice?

Registered
    Nov 2016

Masters in Transportation Planning -- advice?

Hi all,

I'm working on applications to grad school in urban planning for Fall 2017. My interest is in transportation planning, and I am also considering taking classes in engineering or pursuing a dual degree (although my background is not strong for engineering -- I graduated from a small liberal arts school with a degree in environmental studies). My particular interests are in bike/ped planning, transit planning and/or TDM; I've been working in bicycle advocacy for the past two and a half years and want to ultimately work in the public or private sector reducing SOV use in urban environments. I've looked at old threads on this forum about the best transportation planning schools, but they are starting to be a bit dated so I'm not sure if the information is still accurate. Doing my own research, it's hard to tell how strong or well-regarded a school's transportation program is from its website and course catalog.

Schools I am considering include:
    UC Berkeley
    MIT
    Portland State
    UNC Chapel Hill
    Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    UCLA
    Georgia Institute of Technology
    U of Minnesota
    UT-Austin

I'd really prefer to apply to no more than five. Any thoughts to help me narrow down the schools would be appreciated. Thank you!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Feb 2013
    Did you double post? I could have sworn I responded to this already in one of the student threads...