Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Prospective MUP/MSUP/MCP student in need of grad school preparation advice

Registered
    Jan 2017

Prospective MUP/MSUP/MCP student in need of grad school preparation advice

Hi All!

Here's the deal. I am a recent graduate (c/o 2016) interested in pursuing a Masters and/or PhD in Urban Planning in Fall 2018 (Interested in merging Public Health and Analytics - Using City/Regional data to create healthier spaces)
    Undergrad Major: Global Health and Environment
    Undergrad GPA: 3.39 (I was a Bio Major for 2.5 years. I have a 3.76 major GPA; Also attended a highly ranked public university)
    GRE: Haven't taken it yet, I assume I need high scores!
    Programs: Columbia GSAPP's MSUP (Urban Analytics) & UC Berkeley's MCP Program. Dream PhD programs are Columbia, MIT, and UMich.

I have spent the past few months interning at public health organizations working as an assistant to rural and international public health projects. (I've worked in NC and Haiti)

Here are my questions:
    (1) Do I have a chance at getting into Columbia and/or Berkeley? Are there other UP schools that focus on data?

(2) Considering more competitive applicants with higher marks, is it possible to receive a scholarship or RA-ship funding for a graduate program with my grades? How can I become more competitive?