Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Anthropology major interested in planning!

Registered
    Feb 2017

Anthropology major interested in planning!

Hi all! I'm currently a junior anthropology major at a big state school in California. I've been considering Urban planning as a career path since taking a few classes in urban sociology and economics. I'm really interested in the design aspects as well (although I assume this niche is filled by architects). What I'm asking if its possible for me to get into an urban planning career? I'm interested in going to grad school (Looking at schools such as CSUN and Cal Poly Pomona). I have no background whatsover in architecture and design. I'm looking into possibly applying to the Harvard Career Discovery Program this summer, not sure if anyone has experience with this. As an anthropology major, I'm starting to realize that I really don't know what to do with my career lol. Any input is appreciated!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Feb 2013
    Berkeley also has something similar to the Career Discovery summer program if you want to stay closer to CA.

Regardless of whether or not you participate in those types of programs (they tend to be a little pricey, unless you get a scholarship), start volunteering at a neighborhood non profit, advocacy group, environmental group, etc. Why do you want to pursue planning? You need a specific personal or professional experience ("story") to show how you became interested in the field. Also, try to take a couple of planning related classes during your senior year fall semester, if your school has a planning program (or try Urban Sociology, geography, civil engineering, landscape architecture, architecture or environmental studies electives). If it's possible for you, maybe see if you can study abroad in the fall? That's another option.