Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: New Market Tax Credits (NMTC) pricing data

Registered
    May 2017

New Market Tax Credits (NMTC) pricing data

Apologies if for some reason this posts twice. I tried typing this out and posting, but it doesn't seem to have appeared. Trying this again:

I am a tax researcher studying NMTC pricing trends. This data is not readily available, and based on my preliminary research, it seems that the data will probably have to be gathered via a survey of CDEs who have received NMTC awards in recent years. This is a small population, though, so I want to run this by you all first.

I am considering sending each contact an electronic survey (Survey Monkey?) that simply asks for the per credit NMTC price (i.e., the discount rate required by investors) for the last five projects, identified by zip code (and qualified loan amount?).

Does this sound right to you? When the dust clears, I want to have NMTC pricing data by zip code. Is there another way you might go about this? I understand that response rates will be low, but it's worth a shot.

Thanks!

Registered
    Oct 2017
    From my experience, credit pricing typically hover between $.70-$.80/per dollar, depending on current economic conditions. From CDFI: