Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Compensation due to Major Transportation/Infrastructure Improvements

Registered
    Dec 1998

Compensation due to Major Transportation/Infrastructure Improvements

In New Orleans, the Regional Transit Authority is presently engaged in reinstalling streetcar tracks along some major thoroughfares in the city. This

article raises an interesting question about the businesses that are being impacted by the construction. Some of the owners believe that they should be compensated for loss of revenues during construction. I'm no legal expert, but this sounds similar to a takings issue. However, in a takings case, the damage sustained by the owner is permanent, whereas in this case, the loss of business is temporary until construction is completed.

P.S. The link does not take you directly to the article which is titled " Streetcar Snarls."

Any opinions on this?
    "A witty woman is a treasure, a witty beauty is a power!"

Registered
    Aug 2001
    I dont beleive its a compensable taking, but my gawd would that open a can of worms if the courts ruled in favor of the businesses. It could lead to this: Would downtown merchants be able to sue for lost business due to construction of a by-pass which removes traffic from their street?

Registered
    Dec 2001
    I think this is comparable to closing Chestnut St in Philly around Independence Hall after 9-11.

The surrounding businesses are getting killed, and are threatening to sue the city to reopen the street.

maudit anglais
    Registered
    May 1997
    Off the top of my head - yeah, I think we have provided some (never enough) compensation for lost business in cases like this..I don't recall for sure though.