Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: I am not a professional

Registered
    Mar 2003

I am not a professional

Please allow me to introduce myself.

I have long taken an interest in the theory of regional planning and the human environment, without ever having had to put it into practice. Although I have no formal training in planning per se, I have a graduate degree in political science and spent some of my coursework in urban politics. As such I've been particularly interested in the clash of interests involved in renegotiating the built environment, transportation systems, quality of street life, and so on.

I also have an interest in the design side, but merely as an aficianado. My drawing skills have remained stuck since the third grade. Still, I'll make an effort to find a Frank Lloyd Wright building if I'm in a new city.

In real life I work in health care policy, partly because of some choices I'd made early in my career, and partly because it's a field where the job market will always be open. Still, as a second love (or mistress) I keep half an eye on the urban politics and planning world, and find there are some crossovers (e.g. retirement communities, industrial siting and their externalities, transportation for low income people, and others)

Over the course of time I've read much of the classic planning literature people recommend: (A Pattern Language, Life and Death, Edge Cities, Home From Nowhere, City of Quartz . I'd always appreciate more suggestions.

I hope to learn a lot from participating, but at first I'll just lurk.

Forums Administrator & Gallery Moderator NHPlanner's avatar
    Registered
    Apr 1996
    Glad to see you've joined us! Feel free to butt in anytime and share your opinions and ideas with us....I for one love getting feedback and opinions of non-professionals. I'm sure you'll find Cyburbia a diverse place where lots of ideas and opionions are welcome!