Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Where to go after getting my Masters?

Registered
    Mar 2002

Where to go after getting my Masters?

After being laid off a couple of years ago I decided to take the plunge and pursue a Masters Degree in Urban Planning. My prior career had nothing to do with planning. I majored in communications and was a radio personality for seven years. Planning is just something I have an interest in. As I get closer to finishing my degree I have to start thinking about exactly what I want to do with it. I've talked to city planners who say most of their work is real mundane. I'm impressed with the great work done by CDCs, but I also see how many hours those people put in for very low pay. Private sector work seems more lucrative, but I understand there aren't a lot of entry-level jobs at private firms.

Basically I'm looking to hear from planning pros on ideas on where I might go with my degree when I'm done with school. Is there such a thing as a typical first job for a fresh-out-of-grad school planner? In radio it was simple: you took the first job you could get regardless of the hours, the location or the pay. What about with planning?

Registered
    Aug 2002
    Originally posted by apagano
    Private sector work seems more lucrative, but I understand there aren't a lot of entry-level jobs at private firms.
    That hasn't been my experience, Apagano. If you can get your foot in the door as an intern, or if you're willing to accept a relatively low-paying position to start off, you might find excellent opportunities in the private sector. I don't know who is hiring right now, but the smaller consulting firms will often hire entry-level professionals. It's a good way to help with the workload on the cheap.

While your first job probably won't be your best it shouldn't be too hard to get into the type of organziation your interested in, such as non-profit housing.