Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Engineering or Urban Planning

Engineering or Urban Planning

I am currently an Electrical Engineering student at the University of Saskatchewan and I am torn between three different degrees. I was planning on "majoring" in communications, but I am having second thoughts.

My other options, as I see it, are Civil Engineering (mainly transportation) or Regional and Urban Development, which is offered through Arts & Science.

If I were to choose between Civil Engineering and Urban Development, what would the differences be regarding career paths? I am thinking that engineers would be more involved in the technical details, while planners would decide where the structure would be placed. I know there can be a lot of crossover between the two, but this is my general assumption.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Rather than respond directly I'd like to recommend that you get as much dirrect info on each field as you can. Talk to the professor, find some profesionals stop by offices that do both kinds of work ask questions and get a feel for what feels right for you. Planning offices and jobs can be drastically different from one another and I'm sure the same is true for other fields so check a few places and talk with people. If you can find a conference in your area there are frequently student discounts, and I suspect many students crash the party, go to one and you can get lots of planners and probably also some engineers cornered in one place.

maudit anglais
    Registered
    May 1997
    If you are interested in transportation planning - either as a civil engineer or as a planner, I can offer you some advice.