Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Bottom of the Ladder

     
    Registered
    Oct 2002

Bottom of the ladder... what would you do?

I graduated (Undergrad) this weekend with a BA in American History and Minor in Urban Studies and Planning. I've applied to many entry-level jobs already (not all broadly planning related)...but I'm not getting anywhere. While I want to go to grad school, I want to work first. Any advice on what to do? I feel like I'm not even on the ladder... but instead have to climb another ladder just to get to the ladder...

I have decent GIS skills. My last student job involved GIS work and I was able to sign up for several ESRI online classes through work. I plan to work on these this summer as I continue applying.

Other than the GIS, I don't have work/intern experience in City Planning although I have completed several practical/community-based projects for courses. A part of me wonders if a volunteer internship might be in order for the summer (while I look for a full-time position). My parents will support me until August so, on one hand, I _can_ try to do that... but on the other need to be making money on my own to save up and begin supporting myself more fully. I am able to keep my health insurance as long as I work no longer than 30 hrs per week.

For those of you who did not go straight to grad school, what types of jobs did you take after undergrad?

Registered
    Sep 2001
    When I graduated, with my BA - Planning, I went to work for a landscape architect, then unemployment for the summer, then into my career and have not looked back and only thought briefly of going to grad school.
    Too lazy to beat myself up for being to lazy to beat myself up for being too lazy to... well you get the point....

Registered
    Mar 2002
    right now id say go to grad school-the planner job market SUCKS even for those ofus with a number of years under our belts.