Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Legal question / property rights

Registered
    Dec 2001

Legal question / property rights

My City council rezones property to specific uses. I am relatively new to my position as Planning Director but I have never experienced this. For example, an applicant will petition to rezone a property to C-6 (Community Commercial) and they will decide that all the uses allowed under the C-6 are not appropriate and amend the bill to rezone to the particular use the applicant is requesting the rezoning for. We have several attorney's on Council and they feel if the applicant agrees in public to this then it is not challengeable. Does anyone have any case law on this? Advice?

Registered
    Aug 2001

Well I'm not an attorney....

....but our Council does basically the same thing, only approving rezonings when the see the site plan and operation detials of the establishment. Even if the use is consistent with our Plan, the specific site details must be to their liking. I've never seen anything like it, but I'm convinced I can't change their ways....

Registered
    Feb 1998
    That situation is called contract zoning, and it is unconstitutional. But you more than likely will not see a change. Good luck keeping your sanity.

Registered
    Aug 2001

nope...

Per our legal counsel its not contract zoning if there's no developers agreement. Council has sole authority over rezonings and even if the use matches the comp plan, they can deny for cause.

Registered
    Feb 1998
    My response was to Beth. It sounds as though the council make a zone change--limited to a specific use. If the zoning goes to C-6 (her example) does the governing body have the right to further limit the permitted uses in that district? And further, does an oral comittment from the current developer survive a title change?