Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Palais Royal sign

Registered
    Aug 2001

Palais Royal sign

We have a Palais Royal locating here and they want there own normal sign (big surprise I know, no other firm ever does this).

Their sign is of course drastically larger than our ordiance allows. They say it is their smallest sign size.

Has anyone had or seen an experience where this firm has been forced to put in smaller signs. I know McDonalds and some of the others have done it and learned to adjust but I've not heard of it for this group.

Same song different chorus. It would just be nice to be able to say "Well you did it in X community so I'm sure following our sign ordinance should be no problem for you"

Thank you, Mary

Registered
    Oct 2003
    I have a bridge I can sell you..... I don't know Palais Royal, but I have been working in the private sector for many years now trying to sell the same argument, obtain variances, etc. I know some sign ordinances allowing as little as 200SF even for big box retailer. Bottom line: Every client I have worked for exhausts established channel for varaiances. Then they start to work the politicians, with the "we won't be able to come to your city......without our sign, our very bland prototype, our signature architecture....." Depends on your planning staff and politicians as to the outcome. Some politicians/staff are very salty ,put up the fight, and the company makes the choice to stay or go if they can't get what they want.

Registered
    Oct 2002
    Blog entries
    They are just crying wolf .... the whole "this is the company requirements" is a load of crap. They will produce all the documents in the world. Communities that are starved for development cave in. If they really want to develop in your community,,, they will conform to your regulations.

I have heard every line in the book too... thank goodness I live and work where planners rule, developers drool
    "Yeehaw!" is not a foreign policy