Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Banning Dog Breeds (AIB tsc's Dogs Gone Wild)

Registered
    Oct 2003

Banning Dog Breeds (AIB tsc's Dogs Gone Wild)

Just saw this on the news wire here.

http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNew...///?hub=Canada

"The New Brunswick government amended legislation shortly after the attack to give municipalities the power to ban specific breeds of dogs. Several municipalities have enacted bylaws. "

Wow. Local control of dog ownership? I would love to see a lawyer try to prove certain breeds pose a significant danger to the health safety and welfare of the community so far as to actually need banned. This bylaw enaction sound reactionary to anyone? I don't like large breeds and I have been attacked by even small breeds, so I can't see this being effective. What about mutts?

Registered
    Mar 2002
    OK i worked in a hospital for 3 years
    the most folks come in with bites from POODLES!!! Evil little dogs for the most part. Not at all good with kids.

As a former Rottie parent I can tell you yup big dogs can be a mess, they are BIG, powerful and manytimes very very smart if their owner is a pushover or teaches them bad things you have a SEROIUS problem-but its not about breed its about owners. The same for those damn poodles.
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Ben Franklin

Remember this motto to live by: "Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, martini in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming 'WOO- HOO what a ride!'"

Registered
    Oct 2001
    I read somewhere that the worst breed for dog bites was the Cocker Spaniel. In-bred and vicious.

But, I agree-its the owners.