Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Joining the Club

Joining the Club

Hello,
    I have been reading bits and pieces of this site for the past couple of days now and decided to join. City/urban planning is of great interest to me, although I am not a city planner by trade. I'm more of an armchair city planner so please forgive me if my ideas seem amatuerish or dumb. Everything I've learned about city planning I've read in books or gathered from my own personal observations. I've never had any formal schooling in this area. I thought this would be a nice place to learn and I hope that is the outcome of my being here.

I'm from a small town (35,000) in northeast Mississippi called Tupelo. It's a nice little town, I suppose, but it does seem to have the-newer-the-building-the-better-the-building syndrome and most of the commercial activity takes place at and around the Barnes Crossing Mall area. This is also the birthplace of Elvis Presley and the home of the largest rural hospital in the United States (North Mississippi Medical Center).

Anyway, thank you for allowing me to participate and I'll see you all around the boards.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Welcome! No need to be a planner to participate. It's good to see some more southerners in here... we were getting overrun with midwest folks.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Welcome to the boards! Don't feel weird because you're not a planner (I'm not). Hope you have fun and stick around here!

Registered
    Jun 2003
    Welcome
    Love travelling along the Trace.
    Oddball
    Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves?
    Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here?
    Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
    From Kelly's Heroes (1970)

Are you sure you're not hurt ?
    No. Just some parts wake up faster than others.
    Broke parts take a little longer, though.
    From Electric Horseman (1979)

Registered