Closed thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: civil engineering vs. urban planning

Registered
    Dec 2003

civil engineering vs. urban planning

hey,
    I wanted to get your opinions on this:
    I'm currently a student in civil engineering at the university of illinois at urbana-champaign but I'm very interested in urban planning. I am in the process of switching into urban planning for next semester but I was wondering what you guys thought about this. Should I finish my civil degree and then get a masters in planning? Would it be useful? I've discovered that I'm much more interested in the broader social picture than the engineering/technical side, but I don't want to regret switching out of engineering.
    thanks.

Registered
    Oct 2003
    Go planning!

Seriously- I am planner, but work at civil design firm. We do planning services in addition to design and a few of the folks doing planning are engineers. You could do planning without the planning degree in alot of communities, but not the other way around. The masters in planning would be nice since alot of communities want these degrees, but I have no idea if civil engineering will get you into a master in planning program.

Should I finish my civil degree and then get a masters in planning?
    Yes, you should unless you absolutely hate engineering.

Registered
    Jun 2003

civil engineering vs. urban planning